Allowed is what pleases

  • News
  • dart
  • London Design Festival

Every year in September, design fans from all over the world make a pilgrimage to the London Design Festival (LDF) and marvel at the news of the scene. We also set out to gaze, discover and frown here and there.

While the whole world is on the lookout for plastic alternatives, the LDF is choosing plastic as Material of the Year. What may sound paradoxical is in reality a thought that brings the theme of sustainability to the fore and makes us think about it. At PlasticScene, an exhibition created by James Shaw as part of the LDF, designers and studios show how the "waste product" plastic is revived. The thought behind it is simple and ingenious. The designers on display will show how, for example, by-products created during 3D printing are processed into pieces of furniture and lighting, or how new surfaces for kitchens and furniture are produced from old plastic waste. The design world is no longer afraid of the material that has fallen into disrepute, but uses its longevity to create things that last. And so the former disposable article of yesterday becomes an object of sustainability.

London Design Festival

And what else?

As in no other year before, one has the impression that there is not one trend, not one direction in which everyone runs. Perhaps we are in a creative transition period in which individuality goes beyond the mainstream and borders become blurred. In London, past and present were linked. This applies not only to the visual aspect. Traditional manufacturing processes have also been combined with modern ones and are being reintroduced into contemporary design. Organic forms meet hard edges, neon becomes friendly with pastel and graphic elements and forms rise and migrate into the interior. Design does not want to hide itself. It wants to be loud, show itself, take a stand and assume responsibility. And that's what it did in London in an impressive way.

True to the motto "Thoughts are free", the London Design Festival 2018 seems to have been the most experimental of its kind to date. Many things have amazed us while others have raised questions. But who knows what these questions are for.

Fotografie: D'art Design Gruppe

Weiterlesen
  • News
  • Dart
  • Visit HS Niederrhein 2018
Seminar of HS Niederrhein on a visit at Dart
  • Project
  • Dart
  • EuroShop 2017
from scratch

Erlaubt ist was gefällt!

  • News
  • dart
  • London Design Festival

Jedes Jahr im September pilgern Designfans aus der ganzen Welt zum London Design Festival (LDF) und bestaunen die Neuigkeiten der Szene. Auch wir haben uns auf den Weg gemacht, um zu staunen, zu entdecken und um hier und da die Stirn zu runzeln.

Denn während alle Welt auf der Suche nach Plastikalternativen ist, kürt das LDF Plastik zum Material des Jahres. Was paradox klingen mag, ist aber in Wirklichkeit ein Gedanke, der das Thema Nachhaltigkeit in den Vordergrund rückt und zum Nachdenken anregt. Auf der PlasticScene, einer von James Shaw ins Leben gerufenen Ausstellung im Rahmen des LDF, zeigen Designer und Studios, wie das „Abfallprodukt“ Plastik zu neuem Leben erweckt wird. Der Gedanke dahinter ist simple wie genial. Die ausgestellten Designer zeigen, wie beispielsweise Nebenprodukte, die beim 3D-Druck entstehen zu Möbelstücken und Leuchten verarbeitet werden oder wie aus alten Plastikabfällen neue Oberflächen für Küchen und Möbel produziert werden. Die Design-Welt scheut sich nicht länger vor dem in Verruf geratenen Material, sondern nutzt seine Langlebigkeit, um Dinge von Bestand zu schaffen. Und so wird aus dem einstigen Wegwerfartikel von gestern ein Objekt der Nachhaltigkeit.

London Design Festival

Und sonst so?

Wie in keinem Jahr zuvor hat man den Eindruck, dass es nicht den einen Trend, nicht die eine Richtung gibt, in die alle rennen. Vielleicht befinden wir uns in einer gestalterischen Übergangszeit in der Individualität über den Mainstream geht und die Grenzen verschwimmen. In London wurden Vergangenheit und Gegenwart verknüpft. Das gilt nicht nur für die Optik. Auch traditionelle Herstellungsverfahren wurden mit modernen kombiniert und halten wieder Einzug in die aktuelle Gestaltung. Organische Formen treffen auf harte Kanten, Neon freundet sich mit Pastell an und grafische Elemente und Formen erheben sich und wandern in den Innenraum. Design will sich nicht verstecken. Es will laut sein, sich zeigen, Stellung beziehen und Verantwortung übernehmen. Und das hat es in London auf beeindruckende Art und Weise getan.

Getreu dem Motto „Die Gedanken sind frei“, scheint das London Design Festival 2018 wohl das bisher Experimentierfreudigste seiner Art gewesen zu sein. Viele Dinge haben uns erstaunt während andere Fragen aufgeworfen haben. Aber wer weiß schon, wozu diese Fragen dienen.

Fotografie: D'art Design Gruppe

Weiterlesen
  • News
  • Dart
  • besuch HS Niederrhein 2018
Seminar der HS Niederrhein zu Gast bei Dart
  • Projekt
  • Dart
  • EuroShop 2017
from scratch