A sense of unity

  • Article
  • a sense of unity
  • The return to closeness

For the past 18 months, the pandemic has put a stop to live events worldwide, and entire industries have come to a standstill. The result is a wide array of platforms, events and campaigns, all of them now vying for attention in the same saturated media environment. And even as soon as face-to-face events are possible again, events in the New Normal will not be as normal as we knew them before for some time to come.


The return to closeness

Do you remember how things used to be? Attending live events, meeting up with people, traveling, enjoying time together – even hugging! There were no curfews, tests, vaccinations, limits, hand sanitizer or the feelings of fear and guilt that accompanied them. The good old days – hardly imaginable after 18 months of permanent crisis. 

 

Our society and economy have changed and adapted – there have been many attempts to digitally compensate for the lack of face-to-face contact. Together, we have been searching for creative solutions that allow us to keep the necessary distance but still enable people to connect and spend time together. This global standstill has triggered unprecedented acceleration in global digitalization. And not only across large corporations and in the tech industry, but across the board in many small and medium-sized businesses, and for everyone at home, too. Everywhere, hybrid solutions are popping up to keep things running "as usual" and try to reach people in their more restricted daily lives. Employees meet on Zoom while working remotely, online orders are exchanged with zero-touch technology, and events take place virtually. 

 


 

It’s time to reflect on what we’ve learned. So here’s 10 insights from our experience of (live) communication in space.

 

 

#1     Video as an alternative
When the absence of a physical event restricts the sensory experience, tapping into empathy for others can help add an emotional layer. Videos and moving images, with their audiovisual mix, can portray situations that we experience and empathize with in a very real way. Here, emotions are triggered by "action". It doesn't matter if the situation is real or fictional. Excellent storytelling and creative mastery make it easy to quickly convey complex information in an emotionally compelling way. This only works, however, if the mood, content, context and format are customized to the event.

 

#2     Casting
There's a reason why the film industry puts so much energy into casting choices: The people cast in each role are essential to creating likeable and believable content. Authentic, convincing actors from a company's own ranks are an equally as good choice for communicating corporate content – not least because they are also recognizable. Often, members of the audience have even met the actor before in a "real" meeting – this is a great way to make an emotional and more intense connection. Digital live events also require professional external moderation and often even a celebrity guest to attract an audience.

 

#3     Digital spaces
The first solutions that emerged at the beginning of the crisis all went in a similar direction: 1:1 digital simulation of traditional spaces (fairs, stores, exhibitions) and turning existing spaces into film locations. But things have changed a lot since then, and there’s now a variety of new approaches to consider. For one, the creation of fictional digital architecture and spatial structures, to visualize impressively large-scale structures unfettered by budget constraints, construction timelines, and even physics. These range from conventional structures to abstractly sketched creative stages. At the same time, we’ve seen an increase in the use of photo-realistic rendering to create interactive environments – focused on staging a perfect spatial experience. And that’s not all: Using illusionary techniques that come straight out of the gaming industry, developers are generating convincing 360° worlds that can be played "live" in your browser – with and without VR glasses.
 

GROHE X - Digital
Experience Hub   
#3 #5

Schüco Innovation Now - Online Plattform   #1 #2

 

#4     Hybrid spaces – Mix & Match
One of the most exciting developments is the linking of virtual, even live-rendered rooms with real studio spaces. In this way, real people can be integrated into adaptable digital settings. The potential is huge: live events with a virtual stage, Apple-style presentations, methodical product deep-dives and tech-savvy training sessions. The studio space needed for this can be individually selected. It might be a temporary/rented solution or an ongoing permanent installation—designed with this express purpose in mind. For the best results, it's crucial to first define the formats that might be required, frequency of use as well as an umbrella design framework for the space, staging, interaction and on-screen/motion. 


#5     Festival Experience
There’s no denying the success of connected digital spaces—realized through the creation of a 360° communication hub. Here, scheduled events, videos, magazines, product information and virtual rooms come together to offer a varied and exciting festival experience. Visitors can access digital rooms with a wide variety of functions, attend live streaming events and select the exact content that interests them. The accompanying pre-launch campaign leading up to the event is just as important as the high-quality, relevant content made available.

 


Henkel Content Factory - Creative Hub & Film and Photostudio   #4

SMA 
Solar Academy
- Branded Streaming Studio   #4 #5

 

#6     Brand Spaces
Here, the true art lies in working out how to connect all the available marketing messages and storylines into a perfectly orchestrated unified experience. This was an issue even pre-covid. Back then hybrid solutions with mobile streaming technology were popular – professionalized by connected online platforms at scale. But since then, we’ve discovered that B2B brand worlds also work well for small groups of visitors and offer a high-quality environment for staging and producing recorded or live content. Current projects now envision brand spaces as multi-spaces – digitally connected to other locations and with professionally equipped studio areas for content production or event hosting.


#7     Marathon
We train for the long haul. Because most live events were cancelled, the competition turned their full attentions to the digital space. The result is a wide array of platforms, events and campaigns, all of them now vying for attention in the same saturated media environment. But did they really ever think they’d be able to totally replace these large international live events permanently marked in people’s international calendars? A better approach is surely to closely examine the potential of digital/hybrid formats and then to host a truly innovative event with a comparable reach but over a longer run period. Those that do this can use professional benchmarks, tracking and analysis of user behavior to constantly improve their selected approach. Makes more sense!


#8     Is the desk dead?
Another relevant topic: the disappearing boundaries between the private and professional space. In a flash it seemed that most activities were shifted to a work-from-home environment. Open space morphed into digital space, and we were forced to become tech wizards – tuning lighting, adjusting audio, and tweaking background and camera settings. With growing "on camera" capabilities, new rituals, opportunities and demands for future work are emerging. As a society, we are in a period of recalibration – asking ourselves: How much work do we really want to do from home? How "remote" will the new office be? How much space does a hybrid office need? Unfortunately, there are no easy answers to these difficult questions, but one thing is certain: there is work to be done. Because these new experiences are begging to be analyzed and evaluated and new solutions planned and designed.
 

 

SK Magic 
Magical Walk - 
Brand Space   #6

Dart Desk Fan   #8

Henkel Laundry & Home Care - Customer Experience Center   #6 #9

 

#9     Brand Experience
Innovative brands have long played the role of reducing complexity, promising security, revealing new ways of doing things, and offering people emotional inspiration. Once the crisis has subsided, we as a society will find ourselves investigating core questions about purpose and meaning and demanding fresh guiding principles for our new reality. Brands are under increasing pressure to stand for something bigger than just the products or services they offer – vision, responsibility and compelling perspectives play a crucial role in future success. Whether communication occurs across purely digital or hybrid digital/analog channels, it's all about leadership, attitude, content, and what they have to offer. Actions speak louder than words.


#10     Unity
Of course, what we're really missing is live contact with others. Afterall, we’re conditioned at birth to crave closeness. It's one of the most fundamental needs of our species, we require physical contact to grow. In the long term, both privately and professionally, we’ll fail to thrive without “real” closeness. But who didn’t know that already? We’ve all had it up to here with digital equivalents. They’re never the same.  

 

Truly excellent “real” events begin well before their kickoff – with the anticipation of seeing familiar faces again, of an exciting trip to a beautiful destination, of shared cultural activities and of culinary delights. And then there are those spontaneous, serendipitous encounters and experiences – those unplanned new discoveries and surprises. It's the sum of all these that makes physical events a satisfying overall experience – and create lasting memories. 
 

 

The question of how live communication in the post-pandemic space is shaping up cannot be answered with "either/or". The huge opportunity at the moment is the combination of analog space and new digital formats.

 

 

We are all hunters and gatherers – of experiences, encounters and impressions. We love to tell each other stories accompanied by expressive gestures. In an inspiring setting that stimulates all our senses. Purely digital trade shows, events and meetings are an acceptable and sensible stopgap solution during a pandemic, but they are by no means a substitute for real live events. Participate in just a few of these events, and you can feel the "digital fatigue" (HORIZONT) setting in. The absence of a multi-sensory experience means we never lose that sense of simply sitting in front of a screen. Real togetherness is missing – and this must change, fast.

The solution?

‚The best of both worlds‘ is our vision for spatial communication: a smooth transition between newer digital and reliable in-person elements – as soon as the situation allows. A flexible combination, especially useful in these continued times of uncertainty. Where strategic focus is shared through knowledge, content and networking in the digital arena, combined with emotional encounters and socializing on-site. With interfaces that integrate seamlessly and technology that smooths the way for making personal contacts. Made special by their experiential nature – a “digital hug,” so to speak.

We can’t wait!
 

Weiterlesen
  • Virtual
  • grohe x
  • digital plattform
Virtual virtuoso: GROHE X
  • Communication
  • Schüco
  • Innovation Now 2021
Innovative digital offensive goes live
  • Project
  • Henkel
  • Content Factory 2020
Space for creativity
  • Project
  • SK Magic
  • Magical Walk 2017
Bring Magic to Life
  • Communication
  • Dart
  • devices 2020
Dart Devices
  • Project
  • Henkel
  • Beauty care Lighthouse
Innovation across all senses

A sense of unity

  • Artikel
  • a sense of unity
  • Die Rückkehr der Nähe

In den letzten 18 Monaten hat die Pandemie jegliche Art von Live-Events weltweit verhindert, komplette Wirtschaftszweige stehen still. Der gesamte Wettbewerb der Live-Kommunikation konzentriert sich seitdem im Digitalen Raum. Und auch sobald Präsenzveranstaltungen wieder möglich sind, werden Events im Neuen Normal noch auf einige Zeit nicht so normal sein, wie wir sie zuvor kannten. 


Die Rückkehr der Nähe

Wie war das noch? Auf Events gehen, Menschen treffen, sich zur Begrüßung umarmen, reisen, gemeinsam die Zeit genießen. Ohne Ausgangsbeschränkungen, ohne Test, Impfung, Grenzwerte, ohne Desinfektion und schlechtes Gewissen. Herrliche Zeiten, aber kaum noch vorstellbar nach 18 Monaten Dauerkrise.

 

Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft haben sich verändert, mussten sich anpassen und vieles wurde unternommen, um die fehlenden Kontaktmöglichkeiten digital auszugleichen. Kreative Lösungen wurden gesucht, wie wir einerseits die erforderliche Distanz wahren, uns aber trotzdem nah sein können. Aus einem globalen Stillstand wurde so auch eine globale Highspeed-Digitalisierung. Und dies nicht nur für Technologie- oder Großkonzerne, sondern ebenso für weite Teile des Mittelstands, wie auch für jeden Einzelnen im privaten Umfeld. Von allen Seiten ploppen hybride Lösungen auf, die den Betrieb in Gang halten und die Menschen in ihrem beschränkten Alltag erreichen sollen. Im Home-Office trifft man sich in Zoom-Meetings, Online-Bestellungen werden kontaktlos über Zero-Touch Technologien übergeben, und Veranstaltungen finden online statt. 

 


 

Zeit für ein Zwischenresümee: Was haben wir gelernt? 10 Erkenntnisse aus unseren Erfahrungen im Bereich der (Live-) Kommunikation im Raum.

 

 

#1     Film als Alternative
Wenn das Erlebnis mit allen Sinnen im Rahmen einer physischen Veranstaltung ausbleiben muss, kann die Empathie für Andere eine funktionierende Alternative darstellen. Film und Bewegtbild mit ihrer audiovisuellen Mischung haben das Potenzial Situationen zu zeigen, die wir ganz real miterleben und mitfühlen. Emotionen entstehen hierbei primär durch „Handlung“, ganz unabhängig davon, ob dabei fiktive oder reale Situationen dargestellt werden. Gutes Storytelling und das Beherrschen der gestalterischen Mittel machen es möglich, komplexe Informationen schnell und emotional überzeugend zu vermitteln. Damit das funktioniert benötigt es aber eine individuell zugeschnittene Lösung – je nach Kontext, Format, Inhalt und Flughöhe.

 

#2     Casting
Nicht ohne Grund hängen Filme an ihrer Besetzung. Es ist essentiell welche Personen für welche Rollen besetzt werden, um glaubwürdig und sympathisch Inhalte anbieten zu können. Authentische, überzeugende Darsteller aus den eigenen Reihen sind hier eine gute Wahl zur Kommunikation von Inhalten und als wirksamer Identifikationsträger. Oft kann so auch an zurückliegende „reale“ Begegnungen der Zielgruppen mit diesen Darstellern angeknüpft werden, entsprechend intensiver und emotionaler ist dann die Wirkung. Speziell digitale Live-Veranstaltungen fordern darüber hinaus aber auch eine professionelle (externe) Moderation und zunehmend die Besetzung von themenrelevanten und idealerweise prominenten Gästen als zusätzliche Attraktoren.

 

#3     Digitale Räume
Neben der naheliegenden digitalen 1:1 Simulation von Begegnungsräumen (Messen, Shops, Ausstellungen) und einer spontanen filmischen Nutzung vorhandener Räumlichkeiten zum Beginn der Krise, hat sich eine Vielzahl neuer Formate entwickelt. Einmal die Kreation von fiktiven Digital-Architekturen und räumlichen Strukturen, häufig um hier (befreit von Budget, Physik und Bauzeiten…) einen beeindruckend „großen“ Rahmen zu visualisieren. Die Bandbreite reicht dabei von abstrakt skizzierten Kreativ-Stages bis hin zu konventionell orientierten Architekturen. Daneben werden zunehmend fotorealistisch gerenderte, interaktive Situationen entwickelt – hier liegt der Fokus auf einer perfekt inszenierten räumlichen Erfahrung. In Verbindung mit den illusionären Techniken der Gaming Branche entstehen hier mittlerweile überzeugende und „live“ im Browser spielbare 360° Welten – mit und ohne VR Brille.
 

GROHE X - Digital
Experience Hub   
#3 #5

Schüco Innovation Now - Online Plattform   #1 #2

 

#4     Hybride Räume – Mix & Match
Extrem spannend ist die Verbindung von virtuellen (teilweise live gerenderten) Räumen und realen Studio-Räumlichkeiten. So gelingt die Integration von realen Personen in frei veränderbare, digitale Settings. Das Potenzial ist riesig und umfasst Live-Veranstaltungen mit virtueller Bühne, Präsentationen à la Apple, systematische Produkt Deep-Dives bis hin zu technisch versierten Training Sessions. Dabei können die benötigten Studio Räumlichkeiten von temporär/gemietet bis zu Festeinbau im Dauerbetrieb passend dimensioniert werden. Wesentlicher Erfolgsfaktor ist die stimmige Definition der benötigten Formate, der Nutzungsfrequenz und eines übergeordneten Gestaltungsrahmens für Raum, Inszenierung, Interaktion und On-Screen/Motion.


#5     Festival Experience
Erfolgreich zeigt sich auch eine Verbindung unterschiedlicher digitaler Räume, durch die Kreation eines 360° Communication-Hub. Hier treffen zeitlich verknappte Event-Inhalte, Film, Magazin, Produktinformationen und virtuell begehbare Räume zusammen und bieten ein abwechslungsreiches Festival-Erlebnis. Besucher können digitale Räume mit unterschiedlichsten Funktionen sowie Live-Streaming-Events besuchen und genau jene Inhalte auswählen, die für sie interessant sind. Eine begleitende Kampagne und intensive Werbung im Vorfeld sind hierbei ebenso Bedingung, wie entsprechend hochwertige und dauerhaft gepflegte Inhalte.

 


Henkel Content Factory - Creative Hub & Film and Photostudio   #4

SMA 
Solar Academy
- Branded Streaming Studio   #4 #5

 

#6     Brand Spaces
Sicherlich immer noch die Königsdisziplin, verbinden sich in Festinstallationen im Idealfall alle verfügbaren medialen Handlungsstränge zu einem perfekt orchestrierten Gesamterlebnis. Bereits in Pre-Covid Zeiten etablierte Lösungen mit mobiler Übertragungstechnik für hybride Visits wurden ausgebaut und durch angebundene Online-Plattformen weiter professionalisiert. Insbesondere B2B Markenwelten funktionieren auch mit kleinen Besuchergruppen und bieten ein hochwertiges Umfeld zur Inszenierung und Produktion von Film-/Live Inhalten. Aktuelle Planungen denken solche Projekte als Multi-Räume, digital verbunden mit anderen Locations und mit professionell ausgerüsteten Studio-Bereichen zur Content Production oder für ein Event-Hosting.


#7     Marathon
Wir trainieren hier Langstrecke. Durch den Entfall jeglicher Veranstaltungen konzentriert sich der gesamte Wettbewerb im Digitalen. Entstanden ist eine Vielzahl von Plattformen, Events und Aktionen, welche jetzt alle nebeneinander im gleichen medialen Kontext um Aufmerksamkeit buhlen. Vermessen, wer hier denkt eine der großen (früher normalen) internationalen Veranstaltungen ersetzen zu wollen. Besser funktioniert eine dauerhafte, ernsthafte Auseinandersetzung mit digitalen/hybriden Möglichkeiten, um dann über einen längeren Wirkungszeitraum ähnliche Kontaktzahlen und Frequenzen zu erreichen. Professionelle Auswertungen, Tracking und Analyse des Nutzerverhaltens helfen dabei die gewählten Lösungen immer weiter zu verbessern.


#8     Desk = Dead?
Der bereits länger in Bewegung geratene Übergang von privat/beruflich steht ebenfalls zur Diskussion. Innerhalb kürzester Zeit verlagerten sich zahlreiche Tätigkeiten ins Homeoffice. Open Space verwandelte sich in Digital Space, und wir wurden gezwungenermaßen zu Tech Wizards in der Abstimmung von Licht, Audio, Hintergrund und Kamerasettings. Mit den wachsenden „on Camera“ Fähigkeiten entstehen jetzt neue Rituale, Möglichkeiten und auch Bedürfnisse an eine neue Arbeitswelt. Wir suchen gesamtgesellschaftlich nach einer neuen, kurzfristig anpassbaren Balance und wir fragen uns: wieviel Office verträgt Home? Wie „remote“ wird das neue Büro? Wieviel Fläche benötigt ein Hybrid Office? Antworten gibt es leider nicht pauschal, aber eines ist sicher: hier lauert Arbeit … denn diese Erfahrungen wollen analysiert, bewertet und neue Lösungen geplant und gestaltet werden.
 

 

SK Magic 
Magical Walk - 
Brand Space   #6

Dart Desk Fan   #8

Henkel Laundry & Home Care - Customer Experience Center   #6 #9

 

#9     Brand Experience
Innovative Marken haben immer schon die Aufgabe, Komplexität zu reduzieren, Sicherheit anzubieten, neue Wege aufzuzeigen, zu inspirieren und Menschen emotional zu begeistern. Nach dem Abklingen der ersten Panik-Reaktionen werden in unserer neuen Wirklichkeit vermehrt Grundfragen nach „Purpose“ und Bedeutung gestellt und neue Leitideen eingefordert. Marken stehen unter einem steigenden Druck, für etwas Größeres zu stehen als ‚nur‘ für die Produkte oder Dienstleistungen, die sie anbieten – Visionen, Verantwortung und überzeugende Perspektiven spielen eine entscheidende Rolle für zukünftige Erfolge. Dabei ist es zweitrangig, ob ausschließlich digitale oder hybride digital/analoge Kommunikationswege beschritten werden – es geht um Führung, Haltung, Inhalte und konkrete Angebote. Doing, not talking ist hier die Devise.


#10     Unity
Was trotzdem fehlt ist der physische Kontakt zu anderen. Denn wir sind weder Nestflüchter noch Nesthocker, genau genommen sind wir „Traglinge“. Das gehört zur Grunderfahrung unserer Spezies, wir brauchen Körperkontakt, damit wir wachsen. Im privaten wie auch im beruflichen Umfeld wird es langfristig nicht ohne ‚echte‘ Nähe gehen, das dürfte uns allen mittlerweile klar geworden sein. Rein digitalen Kontakt hatten und haben wir im Überfluss, aber das ist kein vollwertiger Ersatz.

 

Gute ‚echte‘ Events beginnen nicht erst mit der eigentlichen Veranstaltung, sondern bereits weit im Vorfeld – mit der Vorfreude: auf ein Wiedersehen mit bekannten Gesichtern, eine spannende Reise zu einer attraktiven Destination, auf gemeinsame kulturelle Aktivitäten und kulinarische Genüsse. Hinzu gesellen sich dann spontane, zufällige Ereignisse und Begegnungen – Überraschungen und gänzlich ungeplante Neuentdeckungen. Es ist die Summe, die Dichte und die Qualität all dieser Reize, welche physische Events zu einer überzeugenden Gesamterfahrung – zu einer großartigen Erinnerung werden lässt. 
 

 

Die Frage, wie sich die Live-Kommunikation im Raum nach der Pandemie gestaltet, ist nicht mit „entweder/oder“ zu beantworten. Die riesige Chance, die sich momentan bietet, ist die Verbindung von analogem Raum und neuen digitalen Formaten. 

 

 

Wir alle sind Jäger und Sammler – von Erfahrungen, Begegnungen und Eindrücken. Wir lieben es, uns gegenseitig Geschichten zu erzählen und dabei körperlich zu agieren. Am liebsten in inspirierender Atmosphäre als eine sinnliche Gesamterfahrung. Rein digitale Messen, Events und Veranstaltungen während der Pandemie sind als sinnvolle Notlösung akzeptabel, aber sie sind in dieser Form keinesfalls ein Ersatz für die bisherigen Formate. Schon nach einigen Teilnahmen macht sich „digitale Müdigkeit“ (HORIZONT) breit. Denn das Fehlen einer ganzen Summe an sinnlichen Reizen macht schnell deutlich, dass wir uns lediglich vor dem Bildschirm befinden und echte Zusammengehörigkeit (‚a sense of unity‘) ausbleibt. Das muss sich ändern, und zwar schnell.

 

‚Best of Both‘ lautet daher unsere Vision für die Kommunikation im Raum, ein fließender Übergang zwischen neuen digitalen und erprobten analogen Elementen – sobald eine Rückkehr zu Live-Events wieder möglich ist. Eine flexible Kombination, insbesondere geeignet in Zeiten einer Navigation ‚auf Sicht‘. Die strategische Ausrichtung verteilt sich dabei auf Wissen, Content und Networking im digitalen Raum, Erlebnis und Socializing vor Ort. Mit ineinandergreifenden Schnittstellen und der Chance, wiedererkennbare digitale Pendants zu schaffen. Ausgezeichnet gerade durch ihre unterschiedlichen Erlebnisweisen – ‚digitales Knuddeln‘ sozusagen. 
 

Wir freuen uns sehr darauf.
 

Weiterlesen
  • Virtuell
  • grohe x
  • Digitale Plattform
Virtuos virtuell: GROHE X
  • Kommunikation
  • Schüco
  • Innovation Now 2021
Digitale Offensive für Innovation
  • Projekt
  • Henkel
  • Content Factory 2020
Der Kreativ-Raum
  • Projekt
  • SK Magic
  • Magical Walk 2017
Bring Magic to Life
  • Kommunikation
  • Dart
  • devices 2020
Dart Devices
  • Projekt
  • Henkel
  • Beauty care Lighthouse
Innovation für alle Sinne